- Published: August 27, 2022
- Updated: August 27, 2022
- University / College: University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Language: English
- Downloads: 22
Chesca Loriel Decena Faults The rules of badminton consider the following as faults: – If the shuttle lands outside the boundaries of the court, passes through or under the net, fail to pass the net, touches the ceiling or side walls, touches the person or dress of a player or touches any other object or person. – If the initial point of contact with the shuttle is not on the striker’s side of the net. (The striker may, however, follow the shuttle over the net with the racket in the course of a stroke. ) If a player touches the net or its supports with racket, person or dress, invades an opponent’s court over the net with racket or person except as permitted. – If a player invades an opponent’s court under the net with racket or person such that an opponent is obstructed or distracted or obstructs an opponent, that is prevents an opponent from making a legal stroke where the shuttle is followed over the net. – If a player deliberately distracts an opponent by any action such as shouting or making gestures. If the shuttle is caught and held on the racket and then slung during the execution of a stroke. – If the shuttle is hit twice in succession by the same player with two strokes. – If the shuttle is hit by a player and the player’s partner successively or touches a player’s racket and continues towards the back of that player’s court. – If a player is guilty of flagrant, repeated or persistent offences under Law of Continuous Play, Misconduct, Penalties. – If, on service, the shuttle is caught on the net and remains suspended on top, or, on service, after passing over the net is caught in the net.
Lets ‘Let’ is called by the umpire, or by a player (if there is no umpire), to halt play. A ‘let’ may be given for any unforeseen or accidental occurrence. The rules of badminton consider the following as ‘lets’: – If a shuttle is caught in the net and remains suspended on top or, after passing over the net, is caught in the net, it shall be a ‘let’ except on service. – If, during service, the receiver and server are both faulted at the same time, it shall be a ‘let’. – If the server serves before the receiver is ready, it shall be a ‘let’. If, during play, the shuttle disintegrates and the base completely separates from the rest of the shuttle, is shall be a ‘let’. – If a line judge is unsighted and the umpire is unable to make a decision, it shall be a ‘let’. – A ‘let’ may occur following a service court error. When a ‘let’ occurs, the play since the last service shall not count and the player who served shall serve again, except where in situations where the Law of Service Court Errors is applicable.