## Ibm's board of director's essay



William R. Brody was elected to the Board of Directors on the 26th of June 2007. Dr. Brody is the President The Johns Hopkins University, which is world renowned for its research and teaching. 2. Cathleen Black was elected to IBM's Board of Directors in 1995.

She's the president of Hearst Magazines, a communications company. She was chief executive officer of the Newspaper Association of America, a director of The Hearst Corporation, The Coca-Cola Company and the Advertising Council. She is also a member of the Council on Foreign Relations and a trustee of the University of Notre Dame. 3. Kenneth I.

Chenault was elected to IBM's Board of Directors in 1998. He's president of the U. S. division of American Express Travel Related Services Company Inc. 4. Juergen Dormann was elected to IBM's Board of Director from 1996 to 2003 and then again in 2005.

He's the chairman of the board of ABB Ltd and also member of IBM's

Executive Compensation and Management Resources Committee. 5. Michael

L. Eskew was elected to the Board of Directors in 2005. He's chairman and chief executive officer of United Parcel Service, Inc.

; and a member of IBM's Audit Committee. He's also a director of 3M Company. 6. Shirley Ann Jackson was elected to the Board of Directors in 2005. She's president of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, a member of IBM's Directors and Corporate Governance Committee.

She was a theoretical physicist AT&T Bell and at Rutgers University, chairman of the U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission. She's the director of Federal Express Corporation, Marathon Oil Corp., Medtronic, Inc.

, Public Service Enterprise Group Incorporated and the NYSE Group, Inc. , a member of the National Academy of Engineering and a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the Council on Foreign Relations. 7. Minoru Makihara was elected to the Board of Directors in 2004.

He's senior corporate advisor and former chairman of Mitsubishi Corporation.

He's the director of Shinsei Bank, Limited, and Millea Holdings, Inc. He is also a member of the international advisory board of The Coca-Cola Company and the international council of J. P.

Morgan Chase & Co., Inc. 8. Lucio A. Noto was elected to the Board of Directors in 1995. He's a managing partner of Midstream Partners LLC.

He's chairman and chief executive officer of Mobil Corporation, vice chairman of Exxon Mobil Corporation and director of Altria Group, Inc., United Auto Group, Inc., Stem Cell Innovations and Shinsei Bank, Limited. He is also a member of the International Advisory Council of Temasek 9.

James W. Owens was elected to the Board of Directors in 2006. He's also the chairman of the board and chief executive officer of Caterpillar Inc. and a member of IBM's Audit Committee. 10.

Samuel J. Palmisano was elected to the Board of Directors in 2000. He's president and chief executive officer of IBM and chairman of IBM's Executive Committee. He's also the director of Exxon Mobil Corporation. 11.

https://assignbuster.com/ibms-board-of-directors-essay/

Joan E. Spero was elected to the Board of Directors in 2004. She's the President of the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation. She's also a member of IBM's Executive Compensation and Management Resources Committee.

- 12. Sidney Taurel was elected to the Board of Directors in 2001. He's chairman of the board and chief executive officer of Eli Lilly and Company. He's chairman of IBM's Executive Compensation and Management Resources Committee and a member of IBM's Executive Committee.
- 13. Lorenzo H. Zambrano was elected to the Board of Directors in 2003. He's also chairman and chief executive officer of CEMEX, S.
- A. B. de C. V. (Board of directors, IBM)References: Board of Directors, IBM ibm. com/investor/corpgovernance/cgbod. phtml>.