## Reaction paper assignment



Ferdinand Emmanuel Edralin Marcos (September 11, 1917 ??? September 28, 1989) was President of the Philippines from 1965 to 1986. He was a lawyer, member of the Philippine House of Representatives (1949??? 1959) and a member of the Philippine Senate (1959??? 1965). He was Senate President in 1963. He had been the leader of Ang Maharlika, a guerilla force in northern Luzon. [1] As Philippine president and strongman, his greatest achievement was in the fields of infrastructure development and international diplomacy. However, his administration was marred y massive authoritarian corruption, despotism, nepotism, political repression, and human rights violations. He benefited from a large personality cult in the Philippines during his regime. [2] In 1983, his government was implicated in the assassination of his primary political opponent, Benigno Aguino, Jr.. The implication caused a chain of events, including a tainted presidential election that served as the catalyst for the People Power Revolution in February 1986 that led to his removal from power and eventual exile in Hawaii. It was later alleged that he and his wife Imelda Marcos had oved billions of dollars of embezzled public funds to the United States, Switzerland, and other countries, as well as into alleged corporations during his 20 years in power. Maria Corazon "Cory" Sumulong Cojuangco-Aguino (January 25, 1933 ??? August 1, 2009) was the 11th President of the Philippines and the first woman to hold that office. Aguino was also the first popularly and democratically-elected female president and head of state in Asia. [1][2] She is best remembered for leading the 1986 EDSA People Power Revolution, which toppled the uthoritarian regime of the late strongman Ferdinand Marcos and restored democracy in the Philippines. "Tita (Auntie) Cory", as she was affectionately known, is revered by many Filipinos as an icon of

https://assignbuster.com/reaction-paper-assignment-essay-samples/

Democracy, and was hailed by TIME Magazine as the "Saint of Democracy," due to her well-known spiritual life and strong adherence to non-violence and democracy. Fidel "Eddie" Valdez Ramos (born March 18, 1928), popularly known as FVR, was the 12th President of the Philippines from 1992 to 1998. During his six years in office, Ramos was widely redited and admired by many for revitalizing and renewing international confidence in the Philippine economy. Prior to his election as president, Ramos served in the Cabinet of President Corazon Aquino first as chief-of-staff of the Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) and, later on, as Secretary of National Defense from 1986 to 1991. Diosdado Pangan Macapagal (September 28, 1910 ??? April 21, 1997) was the 9th President of the Philippines, serving from 1961 to 1965, and the 9th Vice President, serving from 1957 to 1961.

He is labeled as the Poor boy from Lubao, Champion of the Common Man and The Incorruptible. His daughter, Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo served as president of the Philippines from 2001-2010. Macapagal graduated from the University of the Philippines and University of Santo Tomas, after which he worked as a lawyer for the government. He first won election in 1949 to the House of Representatives, representing a district in his home province of Pampanga. In 1957 he became vice president in the administration of President Carlos P. Garcia, and in 1961 he efeated Garcia's re-election bid for the presidency. Carlos Polestico Garcia (November 4, 1896 ??? June 14, 1971) was a Filipino teacher, poet, orator, lawyer, public official, and guerrilla leader. He became the 8th President of the Philippines known for his "Filipino First" policy, which put the interests of the Filipino people above those of foreigners and of the ruling party. Ramon del Fierro Magsaysay

(August 31, 1907 - March 17, 1957) was the third President of the Third Republic of the Philippines from December 30, 1953 until his death in a plane crash in 1957.

He was elected President under the banner of the Nacionalista Party. Joseph "Erap" Estrada (born Jose Marcelo Ejercito on April 19, 1937) was the 13th President of the Philippines, serving from 1998 until 2001. Estrada was the only president to have resigned[1][2] from office and was the first person in the Post-EDSA era to be elected both to the presidency and vice-presidency. Emilio Aguinaldo y Famy[1][2] (March 22, 1869 ??? February 6, 1964) was a Filipino general, politician, and independence leader. He played an instrumental role during the Philippines' evolution against Spain, and the subsequent Philippine-American War that resisted American occupation. Aguinaldo became the Philippines' first President. He was also the youngest (at age 29) to have become the country's president, and the longest-lived (having survived to age 94). Manuel Acuna Roxas (January 1, 1892 ??? April 15, 1948) was the first president of the independent Republic of the Philippines. He served as president from the granting of independence in 1946 until his abrupt death in 1948. His term as Philippine president is also the shortest; 1 year 10 months and 18 days.